Uruguay In Brief

27 November 1966, effective 15 February 1967; suspended 27 June 1973, new constitution rejected by referendum 30 November 1980; two constitutional reforms approved by plebiscite 26 November 1989 and 7 January 1997

is a country in South America. It has a south Atlantic Ocean coastline (660 kms) and lies between Argentina (580 kms of common border) to the west and Brazil (1,068 km of common border) to the north. It is the second-smallest
country in South America (after Suriname). Often called the Switzerland of South America not for geographical features but for a stable democracy and social benefits such as free education, Uruguay was facing an economic crisis. Long a desired country for immigration, Uruguay is not facing a brain drain anymore. Everything looks to be back to normal.
most of the low-lying landscape (three-quarters of the country) is grassland, ideal for cattle and sheep raising
Geographic coordinates:
33 00 S, 56 00 W
Area - comparative:
slightly smaller than the state of Washington

Montevideo, founded by the Spanish in 1726 as a military stronghold, soon took advantage of its natural harbor to become an important commercial center. Claimed by Argentina but annexed by Brazil in 1821, Uruguay declared its independence four years later and secured its freedom in 1828 after a three-year struggle. The administrations of President Jose BATLLE in the early 20th century established widespread political, social, and economic reforms that established a statist tradition. A violent Marxist urban guerrilla movement named the Tupamaros, launched in the late 1960s, led Uruguay's president to cede control of the government to the military in 1973. By yearend, the rebels had been crushed, but the military continued to expand its hold over the government. Civilian rule was not restored until 1985. In 2004, the left-of-center Frente Amplio Coalition won national elections that effectively ended 170 years of political control previously held by the Colorado and Blanco parties. Uruguay's political and labor conditions are among the freest on the continent.

The name Uruguay means /river of the colorful birds. It is related to
the name Guyana : Arawak Guayana, land of many waters.
The country has a mostly low-lying landscape. Cerro Catedral, the country's highest point, is 514 m high.
A Marxist urban guerrilla movement, the Tupamaros, launched in the late 1960s, led Uruguay's president to agree to military control of his administration in 1973. By the end of the year the rebels had beencrushed, but the military continued to expand its hold throughout thegovernment, with widespread torture of political opponents. Civilian rule was not restored until 1985. Uruguay's political and labor conditions are among the most free on the continent. In 2004, a leftistcoalition which included the Tupamaros won elections which left them incontrol of both houses of congress, the presidency, and most city andregional governments.

Capital Montevideo Geographic coordinates:
34 53 S, 56 11 W
Country name Oriental Republic of Uruguay
conventional short form: Uruguay
local long form: Republica Oriental del Uruguay
local short form: Uruguay
former: Banda Oriental, Cisplatine Province
Government Constitutional republic
constitutional republic
Currency Uruguayan peso (UYU) Le peso équivaut à 0,03268 euros
Total Area 176,220 km^2 178.000
land 173,620 km^2
/water 2,600 km^2
(July 2002 est.) 3,386,575

Language Spanish (official)
Portuñol, or Brazilero (Portuguese-Spanish mix on the Brazilian frontier)
Religion Roman Catholic 66%, Protestant 2%, Jewish 1%, nonprofessing or other 31%
Calling Code 598
Internet TLD .uy
Time Zone UTC -3
Flag nine equal horizontal stripes of white (top and bottom) alternating with blue; there is a white square in the upper hoist-side corner with a yellow sun bearing a human face known as the Sun of May with 16 rays that alternate between triangular and wavy.
Nom officiel République orientale de l'Uruguay (Republica Oriental del Uruguay)
La Densité : 19 habitants / km2
Taux de Croissance 7 % (2005)
Taux de Chômage Le: 12,3 % (2005)
La Région Amérique (hémisphère sud)
Le Chef de l'Etat : Mr Tabaré Vasquez Rosas
Le Régime politique République, régime présidentiel

Fête Nationale le 25 août (Indépendance de 1825 from Brazil
Maritime claims territorial sea: 12 nm
contiguous zone: 24 nm
exclusive economic zone: 200 nm
continental shelf: 200 nm or edge of continental margin
Elevation extremes lowest point: Atlantic Ocean 0 m
highest point: Cerro Catedral 514 m
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins second Sunday in October; ends second Sunday in March
Administrative division 19 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Artigas, Canelones, Cerro Largo, Colonia, Durazno, Flores, Florida, Lavalleja, Maldonado, Montevideo, Paysandu, Rio Negro, Rivera, Rocha, Salto, San Jose, Soriano, Tacuarembo, Treinta y Tres

No comments:

Post a Comment